Νέα


Greek Diaspora Fellowship Program Now Accepting Applications


Applications are being accepted now through
July 31, 2019 at 11:59 PM EDT or August 1, 2019 6:59 AM EEST
for the Cycle 3 competition of the 
Greek Diaspora Fellowship Program (GDFP) 

 

  • Accredited universities in Greece can submit a project request online to host a scholar.
  • Scholars born in Greece or Cyprus, or who hold Greek or Cypriot citizenship, who live in the United States, Canada, Australia, South Africa or New Zealand; and who work in an accredited college or university in one of those countries, can apply online to be placed on a roster of available candidates for a fellowship. Scholars must hold a terminal degree in their field and may hold any academic rank.

 

 Links to the Greek host institution project request application, scholar roster application and guidelines are posted on the GDFP website. Selection decisions for Cycle 3 will be made in November 2019; project visits can begin as early as January 2020 and must be completed by January 20, 2021.

 For more information, please register for one of the How to Apply Webinars:

For Hosts*

For Potential Fellows

Monday, May 6, 9am EDT/4pm EEST
 

Friday, May 3, 10am EDT/5pm EEST
 

Wednesday, June 5, 8am EDT/3pm EEST

Wednesday, May 8, 4:00pm EDT/11pm EEST
 

*Potential host and fellow applicants can attend any of the informational sessions; however, content will focus more on the indicated group.
After the webinars, we will post a recording on our YouTube Channel.

 

Activities: Greek host institutions can request that the scholar participate in projects in curriculum co-development, collaborative research and/or graduate or undergraduate student research mentoring and teaching. The following types of fellowships are available: 

  • All-Discipline Fellowships
    Open to project requests from all disciplines in each competition cycle.
  •  Multi-Institutional Fellowships
    With this type of fellowship, fellows can visit multiple institutions. Hosting institutions must collaborate on the Project Request. Project requests are specifically encouraged that demonstrate collaboration between AEIs and ATEIs. Collaborations between universities and research organizations are also an option with the multi-institutional fellowship.  Please contact GreekDiaspora@iie.org if you plan to apply for this type of fellowship.
  • Cohort Fellowships
    Two or more Fellows collaborate on a single project. Please contact GreekDiaspora@iie.org if you plan to apply for this type of fellowship.
  • Flexible Fellowship
    With this option, fellows visit the institution twice. The host university of fellow’s university must cover cost of second airfare. If you are interested in this option, please email GreekDiaspora@iie.org.

Process:  Prospective Greek host institutions and fellows (scholars) can cooperate in designing a project that the institution submits. An institution may, but is not required to, name a proposed scholar in a project request. Both the proposed scholar and the project request are subject to evaluation by a review committee and approval by the program Advisory Council.

Scholars apply online to join the roster. The Institute of International Education (IIE) maintains and searches the roster for a possible match, according to the discipline specializations, expertise, activities and objectives described in a project request.
 
Fellowship:  Projects can be conducted in the African host country for 14-90 days. For the fellowship, the Greek Diaspora Fellow will receive:

  • $150/day stipend
  • project materials allowance
  • visa costs (when required)
  • supplemental health insurance coverage
  • round-trip international air travel and ground transportation costs to and from home airport.

IIE manages the fellowships and payments to fellows.

For more information on the fellowship program and application process, as well as the projects of current fellows, please visit our website and our communities on Facebook and Twitter.  Download a program flyer to share information regarding the program.

 Please contact:
Greek Diaspora Fellowship Program (GDFP)
Institute of International Education (IIE)
Email: GreekDiaspora@iie.org
https://www.iie.org/greekdiaspora
Facebook: GreekDiasporaFPTwitter: @GreekDiasporaFP
IIE • The Power of International Education